Note on the formatting of submissions.

Hello Folks

Just a wee note on the difficulty I seem to be having with the formatting of some submissions. I am relatively new to the world of blogging and particularly to wordpress and all it’s bells and whistles. I have tried my best to format the submissions as I have received them, but the text/visual box doesn’t seem to like indentations for some reason. Despite spending up to a half hour trying to format some submissions as per their original design, once I have updated the layout, it simply reverts back to a stubborn left justification.

If I am doing something ridiculously silly, please do take the time to first laugh at my ineptitude and secondly point me in the direction of tools to improve my blogging/formatting skills.

In the meantime, I will try my best to format as per the original submission, but I cannot guarantee an exact match.

Ciao for now

Stacey

6 Comments

Filed under Other

6 responses to “Note on the formatting of submissions.

  1. Hi Stacey–
    is this the best email:
    redandlovingit77@gmail.com
    I have some tricks that *might* work. bit of a newb too but I also get kind of geeked out on stuff like this so…
    Let me know and I can send some code-y bits that have worked for me.

  2. You can click on the ‘Text’ tab and then wrap the poems in

     and 

    tags (spaces deliberately inserted here in case WordPress tries to interpret them in my comment). This sometimes makes things look worse though, depending on the theme.

    A couple of other tips: tag posts with poet name and maybe even ‘poetry’ so it comes up in WordPress’ Reader. Also categorising poems by the poet’s name makes it handy for us to link directly to a list of our poems on your site πŸ™‚ and also provides you with a browsable index of poets.

    Have a look at http://thebluehourmagazine.com for a great example of how to curate an online magazine of poetry and art (they also post only once or twice a day, which keeps people coming back for more and keeps your ‘supply’ of works from emptying too quickly πŸ™‚ ).

    And keep up the great work! / thanks for featuring mine! πŸ™‚

  3. Well, I’m certainly no expert, but I just wanted to take the time to say “thank you” for all the work you do to keep The Poetry Jar up and running! Wishing you much success and many blessings, Stacey!

  4. Kev

    When posting via word, there is like a w button. You copy from word, then click this button. It will bring up a new dialogue box saying use ctrl v
    you do this and it keeps all the formatting as you have it in word.

Leave a Reply

