Rubber bands – Susie Sweetland Garay

 
 
The other night in the low light
 
of our bedroom
 
we shot rubber bands
 
at the wall to make the cats crazy.
 
It was a good night
 
with no permanent scarring.
 
 
I can’t same the same
 
for the following morning.
 
The day began badly,
 
unrestrained and angry.
 
 
Tonight I am alone and the wind howls
 
around our lone house on the hill.
 
I am a young wife and I am lonely,
 
unable to say it so you can hear me,
 
or listen long enough to learn you.
 
 
When I was young
 
I wanted to know the future
 
so I stole a small
 
purple paper scroll
 
from the grocery store
 
that claimed it would
 
tell my fortune.
 
I poured over that scroll,
 
searching for secrets.
 
 
But for the life of me
 
now I cannot remember a
 
single secret it revealed.
 
 
All I know is that later my mother found
 
its remnants in the pocket of my favorite jeans
 
after being put through the laundry and
 
I received a grounding and a stern talking to.
 
 
Perhaps no good will come
 
from trying to skip ahead.
 
 
 

©2013 All rights belong with the Author.

4 Comments

Filed under General Poetry

4 responses to “Rubber bands – Susie Sweetland Garay

Leave a Reply

