Mid-Life Crisis – Nelson Mongiovi

 
 
Half a century old, I feel like
a starfish stranded on the shore
reaching for water
in five different directions.
 
A new shade of night
has descended upon me;
the weight of my choices
drips from my eyes.
 
Ruin has become a habit
impossible to break.
Only my shadow welcomes me
in the dim light.
 
My lucid moments
are no longer frequent
or as good
as the psychotic.
 
I hate this life
so deeply,
almost as deeply
as I love it.
 
 
©2013 All rights belong with the Author.

6 Comments

Filed under General Poetry

6 responses to “Mid-Life Crisis – Nelson Mongiovi

  1. hey keep the faith. we all suffer from midlife crisis from time-to-time:)

  2. You’ll get through it! Look at the blessings…this wonderful poem you wrote because of the experience…

  3. I am with you on the shore, reaching in no direction … but I agree, it is still to love

  4. I remember the day I turned 50, and felt like my life was going to slip away like a sliding pond. NO. I am 64 now, really have come into my own, and while there is sadness attached, there is still a lot to love. This is a beautiful, heartfelt poem.

    • nelsonmongiovi

      Thank you for the compliment. Feedback is always appreciated (esp. positive) – You’re in Portland?

Leave a Reply

