Dream boats -Meenakshi Jauhari Chawla

I close my eyes, again,

and try to gather up

the edges of my dream

before it seeps away in the

sounds of the waking day.

A lot of dreams I’ve tried to save

this way – special dreams.

They rise from a place I don’t know

and slip in unseen beside me

as I turn inwards from drowsy borderlands.

Then they hoist their wide Fauve sails,

carry me aloft in their newly-minted arms,

and we set sail to shores

that scintillate behind bright-eyed stars,

or ancient ports behind gauzy breezes…

and just when earth stalls in its pirouette,

just when sun chokes on a cumulus,

when new reality becomes me,

and I am the moment,

and the moment is eternity…

… just then a well-worn decibel cracks

open a skull and my dream dies with slow

labored breaths – first its warmth,

then its fragrance,

and in the end,

the colors drip painfully off the edge,

and reality monochrome is all

I’m left with.

©2013 All rights belong with the Author.

2 Comments

Filed under General Poetry

2 responses to “Dream boats -Meenakshi Jauhari Chawla

  1. Bruce Ruston

    The Poetry Jar welcomes Meenakshi Jauhari Chawla with the first of two poems.
    You can find more poems here http://paintedpenguins.wordpress.com/

  2. mj

    Many thanks! Have a great day there!

    On Tue, Jan 29, 2013 at 2:29 PM, The Poetry Jar wrote:

    > ** > Bruce Ruston posted: ” I close my eyes, again, and try to gather up > the edges of my dream before it seeps away in the sounds of the > waking day. A lot of dreams Ive tried to save this way special > dreams.”

Leave a Reply

